DIY: Minimalistic “Terrariums”

Terrarium’s are becoming increasingly popular for home decor these days so I decided to check out what all the craze was about.

Terrarium: “a collection of small plants growing in a transparent, sealed container. A terrarium is a closed environment, and can actually be used to illustrate how an ecosystem works. Inside a terrarium’s walls, many different natural processes may be observed: photosynthesis, respiration, and the water cycle. The water in the terrarium is constantly recycled, passing from liquid form to gas and back again. As the moisture in the air condenses on the glass walls, it returns to the soil and is absorbed by the plants’ roots”. [source]

I found the above definition to be extremely helpful and surprisingly way more scientific than I imagined. In a more interior-design perspective, I think terrariums are cute little plants that when arranged in tiny glass containers look really pretty. They are also easy to maintain and allow for more creativity when it comes to indoor plants. I like them already.

I guess I felt the need to share this with you because you can take terrariums in both strides: artistic and decorative or scientific and educational. As a college student, I see both advantages. For now, I have opted for a very minimalistic version of a terrarium because I am a failure at keeping plants alive for more than a month. Perhaps by being more creative with my potted plant displays, I will be reminded of watering them more often. Then again, cacti don’t really need regular hydration which makes my job much more easier!

Here is how I made my “terrariums”:

  • mason jar
  • candle holder
  • cacti from Home Depot ($1.89 each)
  • dirt
  • tiny miniatures (I used a little Buddha figure that I found from a flee market in India and my brothers old plastic cowboy figure)
  • spoon

It’s pretty simple. You take your mason jar and candle holder and fill it up with dirt (use the spoon as a shovel to scoop and press the soil in). Once you get your cacti comfortable in their new homes, give them a sprinkle of water to moisten the soil and set up your miniatures any way you like. It makes for a great decoration thats easy to care for and fun to create.

-J

* For a more advanced version of a terrarium, check this out by Yumi Sakugawa.

Here are the minimalistic terrariums I made.
Here are the minimalistic terrariums I made.
Leave a Reply

